Sign In
Your World First

News & Media

25/09/2012

New office in Beijing to service pharmerging markets

New office in Beijing to service pharmerging markets

CMS has today announced the opening of a new office in Beijing, the office will initially focus on the Lifesciences sector.

Large pharmaceutical multinationals are expanding their presence in China as the country presents a huge market opportunity. Industry developments are rapidly turning China into one of the world’s biggest pharmaceutical powerhouses.

Nick Beckett, Lifesciences Sector Group Head and leading the team in Beijing comments, “China is an especially attractive mergers and acquisitions destination for European and US drug-makers hoping to ride out the wave of imminent patent expirations.  It is a prime location for companies looking to diversify their pipelines and make up for any shortfall. Our office further enhances our ability to assist clients in these “pharmerging” regions with cutting edge lifesciences expertise.

The launch of the new office takes the number of lawyers in China to more than 30, between CMS’ Beijing and Shanghai offices.

About CMS Lifesciences Group

  • CMS acted for 16 of the 20 top global pharma companies in the last 12 months.
  • CMS’ Lifesciences Group comprises more than 180 dedicated lawyers globally.
  • CMS advised Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited, the largest Japanese pharmaceutical company, on its transformational €9.6 billion acquisition of Swiss drug company Nycomed A/S (“Nycomed”).
  • CMS did more M&A deals in Europe in the Lifesciences sector than any other firm in each of the last 3 years.


  For your online legal updates

Media Contacts

UK
Nicola Stokes
Head of PR
+44 (0)207 367 3495
nicola.stokes@cms-cmck.com

Laura Swartz
PR Manager
+44 (0)207 367 2303
laura.swartz@cms-cmck.com

CEE

Bulgaria
Violeta Koeva
Marketing Coordinator
+359 2 923 48 59
violeta.koeva@cms-cmck.com

Czech Republic
Erik Werkman
Head of Business Development and Marketing (Prague)
+420 296 798 701
erik.werkman@cms-cmck.com

Hungary
Katalin Kovacs
Marketing and Business Development Manager
+ 361 483 4835
katalin.kovacs@cms-cmck.com

Poland
Malgorzata Sztejter  
Marketing and Business Development Director
+48 502 184 580
malgorzata.sztejter@cms-cmck.com 

Romania
Fern Baydin
Business Development Manager
+40 21 407 3822
fern.baydin@cms-cmck.com
 
Ukraine
Darina Gordienko  
Marketing Officer
+38044 391 3377 
darina.gordienko@cms-cmck.com